FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Brinkmann Gourmet Smoker Reviewed - Not a standard ECB!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
wasilvers

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17 07 2:47 am    Post subject: Brinkmann Gourmet Smoker Reviewed - Not a standard ECB! Reply with quote

I must start by saying this website is one of the best resources I have found for bbq knowledge. I tried some venison (same recipe as brisket) and it was far too tender to slice!

I had been cooking on my $5 clearance grill from Wal-Mart for a few years now. It’s great for grilling and I found that a fire on one side and smoking on the other worked ok, but I had to sit there and watch the thing all day long.

Since it is fathers day weekend, and my birthday as well, I convinced my wife that I needed something new. I’d heard such bad things about the ECB smokers, I had to see what one looked like. I found a Brinkmann Gourmet Charcoal Smoker at Menards clearance priced at $34. I had a coupon for $10 off, so for $24 – I didn’t feel I could pass up the opportunity to mod my way to a decent smoker. The deciding factor for me was the design feature that lets you access the fire by simply lifting off the upper portion of the cooker.

Here is my official/unofficial review of the product.

Assembly…

This is what it looks like completely assembled. Assembly took a couple of hours as parts didn’t fit just perfectly. The worst most pronounced problem was the shape of the body of the smoker. It must have been stored/shipped on it’s side as it was completely oval at one end. The salesman actually told me it was supposed to be that way! I adjusted it until it was almost fully round again by fitting it to the lower portion and adjusting till it fit nicely.