FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Grill & BBQ restaurant in Norway seeking advise
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
NorwegianWood

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06 15 9:46 pm    Post subject: Grill & BBQ restaurant in Norway seeking advise Reply with quote

Hi guys!

I'm a realtive newbie when it comes to BBQ, but I have buildt an UDS and an offset with tuning plates. I'm not a newbie when it comes to running restaurants though.

Now I've been offered some prime locale smack dab in the city centre (approx. 30k inhabitants) and are considering going for a Grill & BBQ concept. People over here (in Norway) are relatively unfamiliar with BBQ.

So I'm thinking of installing a Josper (coal grill --> http://www.josper.es/en/hornos-brasa/hjx-25/) for burgers and stuff - and either a Southern Pride MLR-150 (http://www.southern-pride.com/_new/products/product-details.php?smokerID=MLR-150) or a Southern Pride SPX-300 (http://www.southern-pride.com/_new/products/product-details.php?smokerID=SPX-300) for the Q.

The menu will be 5-6 burgers, wings, pulled pork (likely the top seller in the beginning), some brisket and some ribs (st.louis). I will probably have to add some chicken and/or turkey for the health freaks (loads of them over here). Also - I would like to do elk and deer!

The restaurant will be 80-120 seats (not decided yet) and I'm hoping to do some catering also (probably mostly weekends). There will be occational events where I'll have to serve 200+ at the same time - but I do have my offset also.

I'll do hotdogs, chili and one or two basic burgers for lunch too, but scale up the menu for dinner service. Lunch service is not expected to reach above 30-40 food items for the first couple of years.