FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question about rub and pork shoulder...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TexasRob

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25 14 9:39 am    Post subject: Question about rub and pork shoulder... Reply with quote

Hello All...I'm a newbie to the world of smoking meats. Moved to Texas in September from New England and got the BBQ/Smoking bug big time. Here is my question...I made my first pork shoulder a few weekends ago. I started with using some yellow mustard then added a rub that I found online. I then put the shoulder in the frig overnight. When I got it the next morning I was a bit shocked that the rub really didn't stick to the shoulder, it broke down and I ended up with a little pool of my rub in the Tupperware I was using, with which in turn didn't give me a great bark when it was done. I guess I was expecting the rub to stick better to the meat, like when I do ribs...the rub never seems to break down on ribs. Can some explain to me why the rub on the shoulder broke down and didn't stick to the meat, like it does on ribs? What should I do next time or can someone provide a rub that sticks. Again I'm a newbie at smoking...so I'd appreciate any/all feedback. Thanks in advance!

-Rob
necron 99
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25 14 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I've never used a mustard slather.

I use a light layer of cooking oil (easy from a spray can), then I apply the rub. I pat the rub in with my hands after sprinkling it on.With a light slather and a generous dusting, little sticks to my fingers.

Then I refrigerate overnight or an extra day, depending on what's happening with weather etc.
Smokin Mike
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25 14 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote