FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reviving starter...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Oregon smoker
BBQ All Star

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15 12 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reviving starter... Reply with quote

...So as with some things in life my baking got shoved aside to deal with life.
I have 3 starters that have been in the back of the fridge. They have not been touched for a year. They have some liquid that separated out and is on top of the other material.
What is the likeliness of restarting these? And the safety factor of using them(concerning bacteria, mold). There is no mold, but just worried as i want to bake stuff with the kids this winter and use a SD starter.
#3 LIAR
TonyMo

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22 12 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am just a beginner when it comes to sourdough. There was a website where a guy had a video about this exact topic; I will try and find it again and post the link.

edit: found it
http://www.breadtopia.com/starter_instructions/
BluDawg
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22 12 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stir the Hooch back in and bring to room temp pour off 1/2 into a new container and feed it. Add a little sugar with the feeding it will probably start working againg. Keep in mind it is weak and will need some TLC to recoup. It will be worth the effort as it should have well developed flavor.
Webber 22 OTS
Memorial UDS "Big Jim"
jrbergen

PostPosted: Sun Sep 22 13 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey there,

I've been baking bread for a bit and my answer would be..it depends...

I'm in the military and am single, when I can't feed my starters daily, I freeze them. When I get home, I take them out, thaw them, dump all but a few tablespoons and feed them.