FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pit Calculations/DPP Clone design questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
auto5man
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26 12 12:04 am    Post subject: Pit Calculations/DPP Clone design questions Reply with quote

Hey Guys...a few questions. But first, I should say that although I'm no stranger to bathing meat in smoke, I am a total newb when it comes to building or designing a pit. This will be a first effort.

That being said I need to ask a few questions. My pit will be a DPP style clone. Cook-chamber is one of those short and fat 500 gallon LP tanks, dimensions are 36" x 96" and its already mounted on a trailer. My firebox is an air compressor tank 24" x 46".

My first question is about the firebox to cook-chamber opening size. Using the calculator I'm getting that a rectangular opening 7" x 24" will do the trick, does that sound about right? I'm going with rectangular because I have the steel already on hand for free.

Next question is about chimney stack size. Again using the calculator planning on two stacks, one on each end....I can use either:
1) 4" pipe would give two stacks 41 inches each
2) 5" pipe would give two stacks 25.5 inches
3) 6" pipe...two stacks 18 inches

How should I be thinking as to which stack size to choose? Is the decision just based on availability/cost of materials? (and looks) Or is there some other factor to consider? Personally I like the look of those chrome semi-truck exhaust pipe stacks but I don't know the size of those pipes (?diameter).