FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How much wood is to much wood?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
AutoCountry

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23 12 11:24 pm    Post subject: How much wood is to much wood? Reply with quote

I have some questions, I am a newbie at smoking. I just ordered a custom smoker and had it delivered yesterday and I used it yesterday to cook Beer Chicken for my family and I ended up using Citrus & Mulberry chunks.

However the Citrus was logs so I have to cut those up into smaller sizes so I don't over smoke. I was told that I should only use 4-8oz's of wood, until the smoke runs out then add more but again I guess thats how heavy of a smoked flavor you want, am I right?

I smoked the chicken at 225 for 4 hrs, spraying every 40mins with apple juice, apple cidar vinager & little bit over oil. I think if I were to do it over, I'd use ALOT ALOT less smoke.

Couple questions guys, should I keep my stack dampers wide open when smoking? The guys bulding it said they use it to only control heat but I wasn't sure that might have been a reason why my food tasted so smoked because at times they would close the stacks to drop temp down.

Jarhead
BBQ All Star

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24 12 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome aboard AutoCountry.
Congrats on your new smoker.
It looks like a small DPP design, if that's a firebox on the backside. It's hard to tell.
Your exhaust dampers should be fully open and your heat controlled with the intake.
Are you using charcoal in addition to the wood?
You want a thin blue smoke, almost invisible.
I think you added too much wood trying to keep seeing billowing smoke.
Take us some more pics, like the firebox and inside. We can better help you then.

Jarhead's World Blog
KCBS CBJ & HMFIC Debbie's Q Shack
AutoCountry