FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

First welder
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
boobq

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25 12 2:24 pm    Post subject: First welder Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I have decided to build my own Smoker and I am new to welding. I am looking for a welder that will weld up to 1/4 thick, I have local shops in my town lowes , home depot, harbor freight, sears and northern tools. Can someone lead me to a certain brand/ model welder which Is good for a beginner and then I can start practicing with scrap metal. I am looking for a decent welder that will last me a long time.

Thanks
k.a.m.
BBQ Super All Star

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25 12 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the ring boobq, looking forward to seeing some pics of your cooks and following your cooker build. Smile
I prefer stick welding but wire feeds are a bit easier to learn on. If I were going to get a wire feed I would purchase this one.
http://www.hobartwelders.com/products/wirefeed/handler190/

Now stick machines I would purchase an AC/DC machine they are less expensive but the learning curve is higher.

http://www.hobartwelders.com/products/stick/stickmate-lx235ac-160dc/

Reverse Flow
Hybrid Cooker
Maniac
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25 12 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

k.a.m. gave you two great choices. If you plan on welding alum. you will have to buy the spool gun. If not the choice is yours good luck Smile
GreenSmoker
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26 12 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1 on k.a.m.'s comments. Craigslist.com is a good source of used items. Bought my Lincoln 175 there and there is always a big selection on sale.

Look around as prices where ever you buy vary a good bit.

Homemade Offset 30 x 30
UDS
Rocket Stove