FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Brisket Flat

View previous topic :: View next topic  
me6164

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02 11 4:10 am    Post subject: Brisket Flat Reply with quote

I've got a brisket flat I've had for awhile so I'm going to smoke saturday for the opening weekend of college football. The Brisket flat is around 3 lbs I believe. Right now it's soaking in some Dr. Pepper. Im also doing a rack of BB's. I plan on doing around a 2-1-1 method with the BB's around 250*. How long do you think it will take the brisket to cook? This is my first attempt at brisket. So Im clueless on times. I plan on letting it cook to around 165* then foiling to around 195*. Should I throw the Brisket in about an hour or two before the BB's go on. Because from what I understand it's no big deal to wrap up the brisket and throw in a cooler for an hour or two to rest like I do with my Boston Butts.
Jarhead
BBQ All Star

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02 11 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3# flat cooked at 250 should take a total of 4 to 4-1/2 hours. I don't foil, so this is a guesstimate.
When you foil it, add about 1/4 C beef broth and a couple Tbsp of your rub.
Save all that goodness for mixing back in when you slice it across the grain.
I don't cook BBs, but that sounds about right.
Take pics, or it didn't happen. Wink

Jarhead's World Blog
KCBS CBJ & HMFIC Debbie's Q Shack
me6164

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02 11 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This being my first brisket I really want to foil to make sure it's not to dry. Especially since It's just the flat and doesn't have alot of fat on it. I'll def take your advice on the broth rub deal as well. I usually foil my ribs with some apple juice, honey, and brown sugar. So I guess I should add some liquid to the brisket foil process as well.