FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Time to get started on my first R/F smoker updated 5/9/12
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Beer Can BBQ
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04 11 10:32 am    Post subject: Time to get started on my first R/F smoker updated 5/9/12 Reply with quote

Ok well here I go. It is time to stop talking about it and start doing it i have been planing on building this for two years. I have a week off of work and plan on using the whole time working on my smoker. But I have a few questions that I need some help on. I will address them as they come along but first project will be welding the firebox.
The question that I have is what is the best way for the door to be built? I am thinking of having the door on one end and being able to open the whole side, should I use a single door or make it a double door?
The size of the firebox is 32�x32�x48�. It is a little larger than I need but was easer to have it sheared this way. The sides are all 3/8� steel plate and the ends are 1/4� plate. I am thinking about having angle around the door so that it will not warp with the heat is this the best?

I have also seen a build that had the door on the side of the box to where they had a larger opening for ease of loading; it was hinged in the top of the box and down the other side. But I am also trying to think about how will be the best way to seal the door?

What is the best way to make the air intake vents for the firebox I have seen the basic design of the slide vent? What is the best way to construct this?

What is the best hinges to use on the door the barrel hinges? Or is there a better way to do this?