FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Start Up Help

View previous topic :: View next topic  
pokerduck16

PostPosted: Thu May 20 10 4:09 pm    Post subject: Start Up Help Reply with quote

I have been cooking BBQ for about 5 years now. Im in the Milwaukee area and there is NO real BBQ in the area. I have spent many hours on the smoke ring and perfecting my BBQ. Everyone I talk to that eats my BBQ wants me to start up a Restaraunt. Well I have no experience in the business but love to cook BBQ. I have been brainstorming for over a year now looking to get my foot in the door. I have thought about setting up a stand a few days a week and serve BBQ for only a few hours or until the BBQ is gone. I have seen places like this down south and most of those places have some of the best BBQ.
If I can turn a profit and get the word out about my BBQ I would like to expand to possible catering and vending at area fairs and festivals.
I have a bunch of questions that I would appreciate any input. I have a few $1000 to help get started.
Is this a good way to get started?
What will I need to get started as in equipment? What is the best way to have refrigeration at the stand?
What licenses do I need to start up?
Do I need to prep my meat in a Commercial kitchen?
What is the best way to find a commercial kitchen to use ? I have read like a church or school?
I am thinking of asking a gas station or some type of store to set up shop in their parking lot. Does anyone know should I offer a fee or do they let vendors set up for free or some type of commission?
If anyone has any Questions for me about details please feel free to post.
Thank you for any help
kurtsara
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Thu May 20 10 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It don't matter what we tell you, you have to check with your health dept