FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

welding help please,,,,,,

View previous topic :: View next topic  
romex2121
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 9:15 pm    Post subject: welding help please,,,,,, Reply with quote

wondering what rods you guys are using for 1/4'' pipe ,,,and at what amps are you using them at,,, ive been using 7018 (DC) i have used some 6013 but didnt like the weld i was getting,,all were 1/8'' rods,, had a welder tell me to try some 6010,, im using a miller thunderbolt welder and it does well for around the house and a few smokers i have done,, im not a pro at welding so im looking for a rod thats easy to use and will make nice clean welds ,,, thanks for any insight,,, also what rods for the smaller stuff such as 1/8'' metal,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

romex2121 i use the heck out of 6010++ or 6010+p or if you go to a welding supply store and ask for a 5P+ in what ever size you want. 1/8 is about the all around best. the cool thing about 5P+ you can use it as a stringer bead for low hi or use it by its self
seattlepitboss
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to assume you are talking about pipe which is 1/4" thick, and not 1/4" NPT pipe.