FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Plasma cutter techniques

View previous topic :: View next topic  
pyronoel
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 12:07 am    Post subject: Plasma cutter techniques Reply with quote

I have a Hypertherm Powermax600 plasma cutter. I'm pretty new with this toy, just got it in December, and started my pit project in Jan.

How much cutting should one expect before the shield and nozzle are wasted?

I use the shield that can contact the metal, but it seems to "stick", almost like it's magnetic, and then I get a gouged spot in my cut. A new shield, and a strait edge helps. -It seems to stick less when cutting through painted material.

-Is there a roller tip that can be used to separate it a little from the work?

I know it's time to swap out the consumables when I can't seem to get it to arc any more. It's not exactly cheap.

-Power settings, I've just kept the thing cranked, is there any reason to use a lower setting for thinner materials?
DesertPits
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a Hypertherm 600 which is close to yours I think. Mine seems to stick also but I found that I was pressing down to hard on the metal. Rusty and uneven metal makes it harder to pull/push also. Making a quick pass with a flap disc seems to help. There are rollers that you can get but haven't used one.

Mike
bigric

PostPosted: Fri May 14 10 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote