FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Side dishes
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bailey Q

PostPosted: Mon May 03 10 1:12 am    Post subject: Side dishes Reply with quote

I am going to try to do some competitions and vend as well. I have seen some recipes on one forum or another for non-mayo based cole slaw. My question is: are mayo based foods (cole slaw/ potato salad) allowed for vending? I was assuming that as long as temperature requirements were met, they would be OK, but I am new at this so tell me your thoughts.

Next: does anyone use tabletop kitchen roasters to keep foods warm? If so, what are the positives and negatives?

Q
kurtsara
BBQ Pro

PostPosted: Mon May 03 10 1:48 am    Post subject: Re: Side dishes Reply with quote

Bailey Q wrote:
I am going to try to do some competitions and vend as well. I have seen some recipes on one forum or another for non-mayo based cole slaw. My question is: are mayo based foods (cole slaw/ potato salad) allowed for vending? I was assuming that as long as temperature requirements were met, they would be OK, but I am new at this so tell me your thoughts.

Next: does anyone use tabletop kitchen roasters to keep foods warm? If so, what are the positives and negatives?

Q

In Minnesota if they are NSF you can use them, so no you can't use them in Mn

2 Ole Hickory CTO's
Jeff Hughes
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Mon May 03 10 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Side dishes Reply with quote

Bailey Q wrote:

Q

The problem with slaw and potato salad for vending is the cost of packaging.

The cost of packaging individual servings can be almost equal to your food cost.
Weber 22" Kettle
Bailey Q

PostPosted: Mon May 03 10 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote