FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


power draft controller(pic heavy w/ parts list) updated 4-11
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Smoke Ring Forum Index -> Tech-Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25 10 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok guys i going to let everyone in on why its been so hard to finish this post (other then i've had a lot of $hit going on this weekend is not looking good my dog passed tonight RIP)

all my guru stuff works with the pid controller i built (all my cookers are set up to work with my guru) i wanted to post pics sooner (mainly to shut jimmie up lol kiddin i know that wont happen Very Happy i was waiting for him to say it would not work)




_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryan cassidy
BBQ Fan


Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26 10 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. That's what I'll do then. I stared the build of the unit yesterday, but since i'm painting my box, I'm having to wait for the paint to cure so i can continue.


BTW Sorry to hear about your dog. They are part of the family and its not easy letting them go.

Regards,
Ryan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryan cassidy
BBQ Fan


Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Sat May 08 10 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wahoo!!!! The draft controller works! LED lights up when fans are on, Temp Sensor is mounted, AC Switch works, both the AC outlets I added worked. I need to get the cutting board mounted and I'll send some pictures this weekend hopefully.

I tried to make this as "built" into the smoker as I could yet still be removable if needed.

I can't wait to fire her up.

Ryan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Sun May 09 10 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryan cassidy that awsome man cant wait for pics Very Happy Very Happy
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lump
BBQ Fan


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 308
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08 10 10:05 am    Post subject: controller Reply with quote

Great article you have ssaved me hundreds of $$$$

Thanks Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hokshi



Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19 10 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wanted to say thanks for the post. I havent done the pid but i was able to get a computer fan hooked up on my offset stick burner. now i have a mini incinerator that make certain i only get blue smoke out the other end. Now i just need to make smaller chunks of wood.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20 10 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lump & hokshi thank you guys for checking out the post i'm sure you will love it i'm hard pressed to cook with out mine
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaxonhunter



Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08 10 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is cool, I made one for my offset smoker six months ago using a gas stove thermostat ( its the hollow copper tubing ) The thermostat runs a squirllcage motor and it runs whereever I set it, I love finding ways to make my homeade smoker competive with expensive ones and without spending much money
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08 10 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaxonhunter wrote:
that is cool, I made one for my offset smoker six months ago using a gas stove thermostat ( its the hollow copper tubing ) The thermostat runs a squirllcage motor and it runs whereever I set it, I love finding ways to make my homeade smoker competive with expensive ones and without spending much money


post up some pics jaxonhunter Very Happy
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soapm
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Posts: 2087
Location: Mile High City

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10 10 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the purpose of this contraption? Will it work on a grill with side box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11 10 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soapm wrote:
What is the purpose of this contraption? Will it work on a grill with side box?


it keeps your temps even by stoking your fire . Sure it would work on your firebox if you using it for smoking
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foneman



Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20 10 1:57 am    Post subject: computer power supply Reply with quote

Do you think a computer power supply would be adequate for powering the PID and fan? The one I have has a +12v max 6amp output.

Thanks for all the information you posted and for the pictures.
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
day_trippr
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 3206
Location: Stow, MA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20 10 10:50 am    Post subject: Re: computer power supply Reply with quote

foneman wrote:
Do you think a computer power supply would be adequate for powering the PID and fan? The one I have has a +12v max 6amp output.

Thanks for all the information you posted and for the pictures.
john


6A ought to be at least twice what should be needed, but the viability of the supply in this application comes down to what is the minimum load on that 12v rail to keep it in regulation - or even allow the supply to stay powered up.

When the fan isn't running, the only load is the PID - which I imagine is in the hundreds of milliamps, max, and could be much lower than that (haven't checked the specs - not my yob Wink ) Some peecee power supplies need more than a few hundred milliamps of load to work properly.

'Course, if such a problem rears its head, you could solve that with a shunt resistor of appropriate value and rating, properly heat-sinked...

Cheers!
_________________
Save the planet: it's the only one with beer!
FrankennBrinkmann ECB
Char-Broil Commercial Gasser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foneman



Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20 10 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Day_trippr, thanks for the reply. This pwr supply has an internal fan that "may" be powered on this 12v buss, but I will have to check and see.

Thanks for the input and the advice that a shunt resistor may be needed. If all else fails, I will get the recommended ps.

john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21 10 12:37 pm    Post subject: Re: computer power supply Reply with quote

day_trippr wrote:

6A ought to be at least twice what should be needed, but the viability of the supply in this application comes down to what is the minimum load on that 12v rail to keep it in regulation - or even allow the supply to stay powered up.

When the fan isn't running, the only load is the PID - which I imagine is in the hundreds of milliamps, max, and could be much lower than that (haven't checked the specs - not my yob Wink ) Some peecee power supplies need more than a few hundred milliamps of load to work properly.

'Course, if such a problem rears its head, you could solve that with a shunt resistor of appropriate value and rating, properly heat-sinked...

Cheers!


+1 thanks day_trippr
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usudno



Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25 10 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

new member here and was looking at building a power draft controller for my bayou classic ceramic cooker. I've got the jest of the controller but i had a few questions... # 1 as far as connecting this to my coocker itself... can i somehow attach an alligator clip onto the dome thermometer? I see that the thermocoupling doesn't have any fitting like that on it. # 2 If i were to set the pit to say stay at 240 to smoke a Boston Butt over night... If the temp were to say drop to 230 will the fire be stoked to 240 then the fan shut off... if so wouldn't the temp rise a bit more from the heated coal? Thanks for any input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26 10 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#1 they sell TC with alligator clips built on i just used the cheapest one i could find (with the 100 buck cap i set for myself)

#2 most pid controllers have a ramp or pulse settings so you may get a little overshoot but not much
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
usudno



Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26 10 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks man. now to just make an adapter to fit my bayou classic ceramic grill. I'm not sure that the bge adapter sold by some manufacturers of stokers/PDCs will fit. the egg's bottom damper is curved to fit the egg. Mine is straight. also they use squirlcage fans not pc fans lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hugh_Jass
Newbie


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Location: Mansfield, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26 10 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Killswitch,

I promised some pics of the mods with PID and rather than jackn' up your thread, here's a link to some of the mods and PID control.

http://www.thesmokering.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43267

Thanks for your help.

:mug:

EDIT: for reference

the mods done to the ECB are installing a 1650W heating element and running the element with a PID controller.


Last edited by Hugh_Jass on Fri Aug 27 10 12:48 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killswitch505
BBQ Super Pro


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 3919
Location: Hobbs, NM

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26 10 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the update Hugh_Jass looks pretty sweet from here Very Happy
_________________
Club Disco
Mrs. K.A.M. wrote:
Those are some of the best looking wieners I've ever seen Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Smoke Ring Forum Index -> Tech-Talk All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 6 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group