FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kitchenaid Sausage Stuffer
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BTrain

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16 06 12:45 am    Post subject: Kitchenaid Sausage Stuffer Reply with quote

What's happening,

I am new to the Smoke Ring and I can tell that I am going to love this joint. I am a member of Gator Pit's and Texas BBQRub's forums, because I use and own their products (not to mention they are great people, and I have learned a lot from them). I am addicted to BBQ/Smoking, and every other outdoor cooking you can think of. I want to start making my own sausage. I just ordered a Kitchenaid stand mixer (the biggest one they make) and all of the attachments they offer. If I want to start making my own sausage, is this a good rig to use? I am just wondering if this mixer is a good starter rig. I am looking forward to hearing and learning a lot from everyone out there.

BTrain
JimH
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16 06 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's OK for grinding but it's not a great stuffer. I broke down and bought a 5 lb vertical stuffer because the KA couldn't get the job done.
DawgPhan
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16 06 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how much loot did you drop getting the big KA and all the attachments....and you have a gator pit...can i be your friend?

oh and welcome to the boards...I would also like to hear what folks have to say about the KA stuff since i have the stand mixer and have thought about getting the grinder and the stuffer...
wittdog

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16 06 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with Jim H the KA is ok for grinding, I would look into getting a different stuffer. I have one from The Sausage Maker and my 4 year old can do the cranking.
Cheech
BBQ Fan