FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

chimney

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Smoke Ring Forum Index -> General BBQ Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Efrain

PostPosted: Mon May 26 08 11:22 am    Post subject: chimney Reply with quote

hi i dont have a chimney starter anyone have any other recomendations on getting things going,i am new at this thanks. Very Happy
Alien BBQ
BBQ All Star

PostPosted: Mon May 26 08 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In a pinch use tasteless (yeah, right) lighter fluid at one end (not in the center) of the charcoal. Don't close the lid until that spot is consumed. If you got wood, then a small log over that spot will set things in motion. Also, greasy potato chips make a good fire starter as well.
JamesB
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Mon May 26 08 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weed burner from Harbor Freight! Lights any thing fast and you look cool doing it!

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=91033

James.
BBQ Mega Star

PostPosted: Mon May 26 08 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JamesB wrote:
Weed burner from Harbor Freight! Lights any thing fast and you look cool doing it!

James.

Thats what I'm talking about Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
stevenr
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Mon May 26 08 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bought me one of those a few weeks ago......man, you talk about saving time lighting charcoal, and keeping it going .........plus makes cleaning your grates super simple.
jazzspot

PostPosted: Tue May 27 08 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevenr wrote:
bought me one of those a few weeks ago......man, you talk about saving time lighting charcoal, and keeping it going .........plus makes cleaning your grates super simple.