FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Smoked Cheese
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
RandyRooster

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20 05 7:41 am    Post subject: Smoked Cheese Reply with quote

At Steve-O’s request.

There are probably other ways of smoking cheese, I am not a pro, but this is the way I came up with and it works and tastes GREAT!

After you smoke your own cheese you will never buy it again. I was told that the smoked cheese you get at the store is just sprayed on, YUCK! Anyhow here you go……

First I place the cheese block on the far end of the smoker.

Larger Pic http://boandmelly.com/images/bos/bbq/smoked-cheese/smolked-cheese-1.JPG
Then I place a few hot coals under my grate and make a small pile of wood(Hickory) above the coal. I was in a hurry so I got out the torch and hit the chunks of wood a bit to get them going.

Larger Pic http://boandmelly.com/images/bos/bbq/smoked-cheese/smolked-cheese-2.JPG
100-150 seems like the best temp area, don’t let it get to much more then 150
Normally I leave the cheese on for 3-4 hours but today I think they was only on for 2 ½ hours.
I always watch for the cheese to get a nice tan and some oil on the surface. When this happens it is ready.

Larger Pic http://boandmelly.com/images/bos/bbq/smoked-cheese/smolked-cheese-3.JPG
I place the brick on a cookie rack with foil under it to let it cool and the out side harden back up, probably take an hour. My scientific method I use to see when it is read is the “Finger Poke” when it dose not feel soft or warm it is ready to serve or wrap up for refrigeration.

Larger Pic http://boandmelly.com/images/bos/bbq/smoked-cheese/smolked-cheese-4.JPG
Here is some pics of my 4legged helper, 11month old Boxer male named Toten.
http://www.boandmelly.com/images/toten/toten-3-small.jpg