FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How many pounds of Butt for 100 people?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BiteMe

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24 05 10:52 pm    Post subject: How many pounds of Butt for 100 people? Reply with quote

I'm thinking of doing a party for 100 people and I'm not sure how much Butt to bet. I know I'll get about a 60% yield but how much do you allow per person? It will be seved on a round bun like the ones you get at costco.
Mike
bigabyte
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25 05 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a caterer, so I've never done this before. Asuming you lose 1/2 of the weight of the meat, and people will make sandwiches with about 1/2 pound of meat, and some people may have seconds, then I would average 3/4 pound meat per person. That means 75 pounds cooked meat, which with 50% weight loss during the cook means 150 pounds of meat.

Let's see how I do once someone who actually knows what they are doing speaks up! Laughing
BBQMAN
BBQ Super All Star

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26 05 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello BiteMe! I usually go with 1/2 pound per person at my catered events when I have a second meat as well (like chicken). 3/4 might work out well if that is the only meat you will be providing (enough for two sandwich's per person). Bring along a small scale if you are not sure for portion control- it is a BIG mistake to run out of food! Shocked Plan on loosing about 40-50% of the total weight to shrinkage and bones. If you have any left overs, they freeze well in ziplock bags, and can be re-smoked to almost as good as fresh! I serve my sauce on the side for those who want it. The meat makes a better presentation "dry" and looks like more on the bun not weighed down with sauce. Hope this helps, let me know how your party goes! Very Happy